Dino Spider at Auction

For Sale and Wanted (commercial postings will get you banned)

Moderators: doublegarage, Philt68

Spiderman
Dino: Fiat Dino 2.4 Spider

Dino Spider at Auction

Post by Spiderman »

https://silverstoneauctions.com/sa076-l ... n=1&pp=100

I have no knowledge of this car, does anyone else know it?
ebrown5686

Re: Dino Spider at Auction

Post by ebrown5686 »

Thanks Spiderman, for bringing out that pretty spider! Something caught my attention when I was reading through the description...this 2-liter car is claimed to have an engine bored out to 2400cc's! Is this something that is commonly done? Can the magnesium/aluminum block handle the thinner bores without harm? Just curious...can anyone chime in on this?
Thanks, Ed
Spider 2400 #1396
ThomasK
Dino: Fiat Dino 2.4 Coupe

Post by ThomasK »

You can use special liners, they are also readily available, in which you can use the 2,4 pistons. Together with the 2 Liter crankshaft it sums up to 2,3 liter. The so called 2,3 liter Conversion. The bore equals then the 2,4 liter. I guess this is done/meant here.
ebrown5686

Post by ebrown5686 »

Thanks ThomasK! This leaves me wondering a bit as to why cast-iron blocks were needed in the 2.4 engines to start with, at least for Ferrari 246's. Cost? Reliability? I guess the answer to that probably can only be found in the decisions of Fiat and Ferrari.
Spider 2400 #1396
bhiggins2
Dino: Fiat Dino 2.0 Coupe

Post by bhiggins2 »